And Just Like That

Spring has arrived seemingly overnight. It is a pleasure to find something new blooming every day Here are the first few to open. Above is a Tulip Magnolia.

Snowflake, Leucojum vernum

Violets

Snow Poppiy, Ecomecon chioatha

The Cramoisi Superieur rose came back quickly after all its flowers had frozen. My garden usually has many more blooms, but as I posted earlier, all the plants froze back. Every day more of my frozen babies are emerging from the ground. Hopefully, the garden will be full of blooms for the hummingbird migration.


16 Comments on “And Just Like That”

  1. Cathy says:

    Your spring certainly does happen quickly, with roses and violets out at the same time. Lovely combination that just doesn’t happen here! đŸ˜ƒ I love Magnolias and would like to try growing one but need a sheltered spot for it. And the snow poppy is pretty too.

  2. Beautiful! I was working outside yesterday and saw some buds on my various lilacs. It’s early so I’m hoping a deep freeze won’t damage the plants. Fingers crossed.

  3. Tina says:

    Yup! It’s cold one day, then you blink–and it’s spring! Nice set of shots, love the snow poppy.

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    How wonderful to see an awakening garden and exciting to think the hummers will be moving northward (they won’t arrive here for 2 more months, always a happy event when they do).

  5. tracyrinella says:

    Lovely buds & blooms, lovely this time of year! tzgarden.blogspot.com

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Oh wow! What an exciting burst of spring in your garden! Your snowflakes are lovely.

  7. Deb says:

    Wow! Your garden did wake up! So pretty! The crocuses are adding cheer here,other than a few wild daffodils it’s still in winter mode.

  8. Misti says:

    Wahoo! Love the blooms. yes, things are really ramping up and I’m so glad!

  9. Great photos today or yesterday. Love that snow poppy. Spring is so rewarding after that nasty freeze!

  10. shoreacres says:

    I didn’t realize that snowflakes would thrive here. They’re so pretty — they remind me of the lily of the valley that I grew up with. The only time I’ve seen them here in Texas was at the Rockport cemetery and at the Hogg plantation in West Columbia. Apparently Miss Ima planted them in the garden there.

    • They do really well here and mine have reproduced. I thought they were Texas size snowdrops, but one of my reader corrected me. I have learned gardening as I go. Oh yes, I remember Lilies of the Valley and Lilacs and …

  11. I’ll keep my fingers crossed.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.