The Asteraceae

The Asteraceae are daisy-like flowers. I found a great list of them in Encyclopedia Britannica. All the names were familiar except pussy-toes. I don’t know who created this name, but I find it funny. Here are the Asteraceae that are currently growing in my garden beds.

Blanket Flower

Black-eyed Susan

Calendula or Pot Marigold

Mexican Sunflower or Tithonia

Tickseed

Purple Coneflower or Echinacea purpurea.

Zinnia


11 Comments on “The Asteraceae”

  1. Cathy says:

    I love them all! I can grow some of these too, but they won’t flower until late June. Some of the names are great, but ‘tickseed’ isn’t so nice and I hadn’t heard it before. Is it Coreopsis?

  2. Anonymous says:

    Very colorful

  3. Love the daisies! It continues to aggravate me that I cannot grow Black Eyed susans, just seems crazy.

  4. shoreacres says:

    What a splendid group of photos! They’re all such pretty flowers. The only one I’ve never seen is the Tithonia. Since it’s not native and is pretty much limited to the southern states and gardens, that makes sense.

  5. Tracy says:

    Beautiful, I think they add so much cheeriness to the garden!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.