Plant Shopping in My Yard

It is spring and time to fill in my beds. Luckily, I don’t have to go far or spend money. There are plenty of volunteers that pop up every year. Above are White Soldiers that readily volunteer and I’m using them to fill in a bed in the front.

Black-eyed Susans came up here and there. I gathered them to plant closer to each other and make a nice clump of flowers.

The Yellow Evening Primrose, Oenothera grandiflora is happily growing in the lawn and eluded the lawn mower. They will be transplanted next to the others in a bed.

Salvia coccineas are the backbone of my garden. I can always count on them coming back from their roots and reproducing by seed. These Salvias are great plants; deer and rabbits don’t eat them, and bees and hummingbirds love them. I look forward to more shopping in my yard as the weather warms up.


18 Comments on “Plant Shopping in My Yard”

  1. Cathy says:

    Self seeders are always such a gift, aren’t they. Unless they are weeds of course! I love that red salvia… sadly not hardy here although I do occasionally buy one for a summer container. 😃

  2. Maybe we should have our own support group – shopping in my yard. 🙂

  3. dataentrygw says:

    Looks like a lot of work, enjoy Spring!!

  4. shoreacres says:

    One of the great advantages of gardening is getting to know plants when they’re still just leaves and stems! I know a few now, like lyre-leaf sage, but I really need to get better at recognizing young plants.

  5. Tina says:

    Volunteer plants are so much fun, except perhaps in a wet spring. :) You grow a favorite of mine, the S. coccinea. I love mine and let them pop up where they will and transplant those that are in inconvenient spots. 

  6. tonytomeo says:

    It can be even more fun in other people’s gardens. That is how I get all the goodies from Los Angeles that are unavailable or uncommon here. They are weeds in Brent’s garden.

  7. Doing the same here. Your Salvia look wonderful, mine are frying. I decided to try Black Eyed Susan and they are frying, too. No rain!

    • My Salvia will sleep during the summer. Just read how it is going to get hotter here with the possibility of wild fires in East Texas which is all trees. Fun future. But, when I was coming up in the 70s, some didn’t think we would make it to 2000.

  8. Eliza Waters says:

    Nothing like free plants courtesy of Mother Nature. I love volunteers and rely on them to fill out my annual beds every summer.

  9. I have transplanted a lot of ajuga out of my lawn into the gardens for ground cover. 


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.