Here a Webworm, There a Webworm

Everywhere a webworm. Webworms have invaded the area and there seems to be more this year than any other year. They are also called tent caterpillars as their webs look like little tents in the trees. The webworms eat leaves but are harmless to humans except for the icky factor. They are everywhere we step and also fall from the roof and trees.

The webworms are on plant leaves, dead leaves, under leaves, covering the porches, in the grass, and on the shrubs. They will last for about six weeks until they turn into moths.


16 Comments on “Here a Webworm, There a Webworm”

  1. Cathy says:

    Oh dear, what a mess. We have caterpillars that weave webs in one or two of our hedgerow shrubs but they stay in their web and don’t bother us. The shrubs usually recover within a few weeks producing new leaves.

  2. Eliza Waters says:

    While annoying, it seems they don’t cause lasting damage to vegetation, thankfully. And they are a primary food source for the imperiled cuckoo bird.

  3. Tina says:

    I saw one recently–hadn’t seen any in years. I remember as a child in Corpus, they’d build impressive nests. The thing back then was to burn the nests. EEK! I don’t recall my parents doing that, but I do have memories of neighbors holding long-handled torches to the nests.

    Interesting what Eliza mentions, I didn’t know that about the cuckoo. But I do agree, that, except for maybe young plants, these cats don’t really cause serious damage. I wonder if it’s the wetter year that brings them out and about?

    • They told us to just break the nest apart or spray it apart with a hose. They are eating enough on my plants to just make them look ratty. I can tell you that the wet weather brought mosquitos. When I walk outside I am covered with them and that’s not an exaggeration. I have never seen them that bad.

  4. Misti says:

    We traded the salt marsh moth eruption for a fall webworm eruption! Will be interesting to see how that plays out next year with other wildlife, if we have an abundance of birds because there was more food for the young this year and they survived, etc.

  5. shoreacres says:

    I think I saw one crawling under a shrub yesterday. It’s been interesting to notice that they seem to leave the oaks alone; I’m seeing them mostly in trees like red maple, hackberry, and such. I was afraid they were going to move into the cypress, but even though a few set up shop, they don’t seem to be expanding their territory in those trees.

  6. The ick factor! These used to drive my mother crazy.

  7. And they make the trees, bushes, whatevers, very unhappy.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.