Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

My Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow shrub is blooming. I guess the bud stage is the prequel.

On the first day, it is purple.

The second day it becomes lavendar.

And on the third day, it fades to white.

All together the flowers make an interesting flowering shrub. It is a spring bloomer and its scent is hard to describe, but I feel it is an acquired scent you need to get used to.


22 Comments on “Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow”

  1. What an interesting plant and flower!

  2. dataentrygw says:

    nice looking bush with pretty flowers

  3. Eliza Waters says:

    It’s like have 3-in-1!

  4. shoreacres says:

    Many years ago, a friend had this plant. When she told me its name, I didn’t believe her — I thought she’d made it up. If she still were with us, I’d apologize! It is a pretty thing, and interesting. It’s especially nice that all of the colors appear at the same time.

    • Plants do have a lot of weird names. My kids would always ask why they were named that. I have my religious plants, Passion Flower and Moses. Mexican plants, Mexican petunia and Mexican Knot Weed. And regional names Texas Star Hibiscus, Summer Pansy and Confederate Rose. It is surprising to find that it isn’t even their correct names until you are corrected (on WordPress). 🙂

  5. I love these and should probably get one. I am wondering about the scent now?!

  6. tonytomeo says:

    One of the gardens within our landscapes is a Memorial Garden that originally included one of these at the request of the sponsor. It never did well though. I added two more, so that perhaps the three combined might be more prominent. I am not so keen on it, but am intent on getting it to perform well for this particular garden.

  7. Cathy says:

    Nice to see the different stages. 😃

  8. Misti says:

    Stunning! It fits right into your yard!

  9. Tracy says:

    Very pretty, looking great in your garden!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.