Ruby Supreme Guava

I was given the gift of a Ruby Supreme Guava. It has made flowers but never fruit. Right before I left for an extended vacation, I snapped a quick, but an out-of-focus photo of the fruit not expecting it to amount to anything.

What a surprise awaited me when I came home. The tiny fruit grew to full size and was not eaten by the wild animals that inhabit my yard. I guess they considered it foreign food.

The guava’s botanical name is Psidium guajava and the inside is a beautiful dark pink color.


22 Comments on “Ruby Supreme Guava”

  1. shoreacres says:

    One of my California readers just posted some photos of her guavas. As far as I know, I’ve never tasted one. In Liberia, we had papaya, pineapples, and bananas galore, but no guavas.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Looks like watermellon

  3. It looks like a watermelon in miniature.

  4. Looks good. Just the one? Did you like it?

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Never had one… how did it taste?

  6. janesmudgeegarden says:

    And it looks delicious! We don’t really see guavas here, I don’t know why.

  7. I think I have tasted guava, but it has been a while. I will have to buy one from Wal-Mart to refresh my memory.

  8. Cathy says:

    It looks good… hope it tasted good too! Not sure I have ever eaten one.

  9. Tina says:

    Pretty fruit, looks luscious. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted guava. Are they sweet, or more mild?

  10. Deb says:

    I love guava and cheese together. That I learned from my daughter in law whose from PR.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.