The Hunter and the Hunted

This big wasp has been hanging around the garden.  It is a Cicada Killer Wasp.  As its name implies, it hunts and eats Cicadas.

Within a day, I spotted this Cicada and so far the Killer Wasp did not find it.

This large bug has a face that only its mother could love, but not scary enough to keep from being hunted by the Killer Wasp.

18 Comments on “The Hunter and the Hunted”

  1. Tina says:

    Great shots. I love cicadas, but everyone must eat–or be eaten.

  2. Deb says:

    Enjoyable post! They are ugly . As a child I loved looking for their shed skeleton skins on trees.

  3. shoreacres says:

    I had a cicada killer flying around here this year — and last — and by the time I figured out what it was, it had disappeared. Since I saw it flying lower and lower every day, and finally saw it fly under a bush, I suspect it had its cicada and was burrowing down to do its thing.

    Next year, maybe I’ll be able to get a photo of mine. Yours are great – both the wasp and the cicada.

    • The first time I saw one, it scared the beejeebers out of me. It looked like the biggest bee I had ever seen. As I am sure it is the same for you, there are way too many bugs here…outside and inside.

  4. Chloris says:

    Wow, what a face and what fantastic photographs.

  5. Cicadas, I have seen, not the killers. I have been clearing the screen porch for winter, finding dirt dobber and wasp nests under cushions!!

  6. Christina says:

    At least there is something for the wasp to eat.

  7. Cecilia says:

    I never liked wasps, but they have a beauty …

  8. That’s nature for you!


Leave a Reply

