Mine

Mine, mine, mine!  The Ruby Throated Hummingbirds are making a migration stop in the Automatic Garden.

It has been pandemonium or hummermonium around the feeders.  Some clever little birds decided to guard the feeders and chase the others away.

Dueling Hummers sit opposite each other fiercely defending the food source. The fights have been brutal, including wrestling each other to the ground. The hits are loud and are accompanied  with Hummingbird screams.

I have located 4 feeders in the yard and the Automatic Garden came through the storm rather well with flowers continuing to bloom.

From the perch on the back porch, this Hummer can survey all the feeders.  The bird was so absorbed with keeping an eye on the others, it never noticed me standing 12 inches away.  (This photo was later taken through a window.)

I know the Hummingbirds need to head south, but I am hoping they will stay for awhile.

 

13 Comments on “Mine”

  1. Tina says:

    Haha, they’re such predictable little fellas! I love to watch them chase and scold each other. I don’t have feeders, but I see them zooming at one another out in the gardens, guarding food sources. I think mine may have moved on south, as I haven’t seen one in a day or so. Great shots, btw!

  2. Deb says:

    Nice capture on the second photo! Little Hummer is so hollering mine!!😁

  3. shoreacres says:

    Aren’t they fun? Have you ever seen the photo of the guy in Rockport who hung little feeders from a hat, and had hummers nose to nose with him? I’ll have to see if I can find that online. It was just fabulous.

  4. Glad they found their way back to you. Still here have power but very little internet sporadic might be a better word. My Rain Lilies are blooming this morning.

  5. Sheryl says:

    Interesting. . . I never realized that hummingbirds could be territorial and duel over feeders.

  6. So that’s how you get them to sit still long enough for a photo! Didn’t know they got that protective of their food source. This is a very interesting post. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

