Design in Nature

Early one morning, this Texas Star Hibiscus caught my eye.  It was partially opened and the sun was shining through the green star making it look like stained glass.

Unfortunately, the view from human eye always looks better than a photo and the glow is not quite captured.

Before long, the flower opened separating the green star.  Nature has an endless variety of beautiful designs.

9 Comments on “Design in Nature”

  1. Deb says:

    I agree that seeing it with the human eye is better but the photo sure gave me a good glimpse of a beauty! Thank you!

  2. I think you captured it beautifully. Love the photo.

  3. shoreacres says:

    I can’t believe what a doofus I am. A friend just was showing me her star hibiscus yesterday, and I still didn’t “get” that it’s the green star that forms before the petals separate that gave it its name. It’s beautiful, and I think it’s glowing just fine.

    Happy Independence Day!

  4. Sheryl says:

    The first picture is beautiful, even if it did not fully capture what you could see with the human eye. There is so much variation from one type of flower to another in how quickly it goes from a bud just opening to a fully open flower past its peak.

  5. For those who look, and those who make an effort to see, nature is a great inspiration…and I love that it changes from minute to minute. Great capture on the “star!”


Leave a Reply

