Dazzling Disneys

The Hedychium coccineums, otherwise known as Disney Gingers, are dazzling this year.

The Gingers are blooming a little earlier this season,  due to rain and an early Spring.

The Disney Gingers have really multiplied this year and have very robust flowers. Quite a few haven’t bloomed yet, so the show will be extended for weeks.

18 Comments on “Dazzling Disneys”

  1. Wow! Great plant and I love the bloom color!

  2. Christina says:

    Oh wow! They are fabulous!

  3. WOW! I must have some.

    • I wonder if they have them at Disney World? (haha) I would think they would grow well for you.

      • I would as well. However, yours are the only ones I have ever seen and I remember them from years past. I have some Gingers in a too windy place and am working towards a more protected area in the garden for Gingers. Bought a Blue Ginger last year and it is still in the pot. More gardening fun ahead!

  4. gaiainaction says:

    They look absolutely wonderful!

  5. Tina says:

    Gorgeous! Are pollinators interested in this plant?

    • Hmmm…you know what? I can’t answer that and will have to observe more, as I haven’t noticed. I find that the exotic tropicals don’t seem to attract as many and as you advocate, native plants attract native insects. I’m not sure what happens at night, but I will be looking for bugs today.

  6. Deb says:

    These are lovely! I have never seen these before,now I need to go google to see what I can learn about them.

  7. shoreacres says:

    I’ve never seen anything like this. They’re remarkably beautiful, and the color is almost exactly that of my sixth grade graduation dress, which I adored.

  8. Definitely gorgeous in colour and shape!

  9. pbmgarden says:

    Such a beautiful display. Love the color of this ginger.


Leave a Reply

