Something New in the Garden

A different Shrimp plant bloomed in the garden this year.  It has fuller flowers than the others and different coloration.

Growing nearby is this Shrimp Cocktail variety

and this typical one that is shrimp-like in color.

In an adjacent bed is a red Shrimp plant.

Is the new one a result of cross-pollination, a virus that causes variegation or one I just forgot I planted?

I did search and haven’t found a Shrimp plant that looked like this.  Let me know if anyone has seen a similar one.

18 Comments on “Something New in the Garden”

  1. I have similar but different Red Shrimp Plants (bigger flowers)

  2. Ann Coleman says:

    I haven’t seen one, but it sure is pretty!

  3. Chloris says:

    How exciting, maybe you have a brand new one. What will you call it?

  4. shoreacres says:

    I don’t know a thing about shrimp plants, so I can’t help you out with identification, or even a guess about why it differs from the others. But I think they’re all pretty. Would they grow in a pot?

  5. Tina says:

    Lovely bloom. I can’t help with the id, but can sure appreciate its beauty.

  6. Sheryl says:

    It’s beautiful! I’d guess that it’s the result of cross pollination – but I’m no expert on these things.

  7. gaiainaction says:

    Something new for me too, I am not familiar with this plant at all but think it is lovely and interesting.


Leave a Reply

