Shades of Orange

Shades of orange seem to be popping out in the garden. Somehow more than usual were planted this year.

The orange plants can easily be seen from across the yard or inside the house.

Orange is a blend of red and yellow.  The color orange evokes joy, creativity, healthy eating, sunshine, the freedom of expression and many other things according to the internet.  Or it is simply a pretty, bright color.

This visitor popped out during the photo shoot, so I had to include the Coral Snake.  It does display the colors contained in orange.

22 Comments on “Shades of Orange”

  1. shoreacres says:

    Some of these I know, but a couple are brand new. What’s that ball-like cluster on the left, just beneath the first group of photos? It’s very attractive.

    The coral snake’s attractive, too, in a slightly more complicated way! I did read recently that they have very small mouths, and aren’t likely to be able to inject enough poison to harm a person, unless they’re being messed with in a way they shouldn’t be. The advice was to simply let them slither away and continue being snakes: who, after all, do a good bit of good for us.

    By the way, my comment on your last post still shows as “awaiting moderation.” Could you check to be sure it’s there? WordPress is being a little wonky these days. Thanks!

    • I was lazy and didn’t label the flowers. I may go back and do it later. The flower is a Blood Lily. It is one of the coolest flowers I grow. It is a bulb and I started with 2 and now have 10. It is poisonous and the man I bought it from said to plant it and never touch it again. I have some posts on it with better photos. My snake guide said to get immediate medical attention if the Coral Snake bites.

  2. Deb says:

    Beautiful..except for the snake😳 … it has pretty colors but I have a hard time seeing the colors for the 🐍 image gets in the way…

  3. Tina says:

    Nice array of colors–flowers and snake! The only snakes I see are the little garters, though once I had a beautiful bull snake who’d taken up residence in my compost so that he/she could dine on a nest of rats–who’d also taken up residence. I cheered for the snake!

  4. Orange is one of my favorite colors in the garden, it simply glows like nothing else. Wouldn’t be happy to see a coral snake, however, even though I’m very fond of my black rat snakes.

  5. Christina says:

    I like orange in the garden; I didn’t used to but in bright sunshine it is a colour that’s hard to beat.

  6. FlowerAlley says:

    Coral snake? Well, red and yellow do make orange.

  7. Red next to yellow, avoid the fellow! I did not realize you had Coral Snakes in Texas! We have them here, but I have yet to see one in the garden. I have numerous Black Racers. I think they eat everybody else. I have a lot or oranges and reds coming into flower as well. Are the Tithonias perennial there?

  8. These flowers are so beautiful! I love how vibrant they are.

  9. Chloris says:

    I love all your oranges but I could do without the coral snake even if he is a rather exotic accessory.

  10. gaiainaction says:

    Wow, lovely! and wow again for the snake! Amazing its colouring.


Leave a Reply

