Flashback Friday

This has been a disappointing year for Poppies in the Automatic Garden.  Even after multiple sowing, no Poppies emerged.  Did the seeds rots or did ants steal them?  I just don’t know.  Luckily, I have a great post from the past to remind me of what could have been.

Take a look at A Good Poppy Crop.

12 Comments on “Flashback Friday”

  1. I used to grow Poppies, the one in your photo was my favorite. Memories..

  2. Deb says:

    Or birdies had a snack… the morning doves ate my sunflower seeds that I had planted.

  3. Tina says:

    That’s too bad–I hope you have some extra seeds to sow in the fall?

  4. shoreacres says:

    I’ve never seen these poppies, and they’re just beautiful. I thought it was interesting that their seeds remain viable for such a long time. Have you ever been to Wildseed Farms in Fredericksburg? I made it there this year, and they had one section devoted to poppies. It was a terrible day for photography: cloudy and dim. Even so, it was impressive to see acres and acres of them all together.

    • Well, there is a story to the poppies. I was visiting Mercer Arboretum during the time I wanted to learn how to be a gardener in this area and saw the poppies, which I thought were some of the most beautiful flowers I had ever seen. I went to the office to ask what they were and the lady gave me some seeds! I have been growing them ever since. Yes, I have been to Wildseed and usually order seed from them every year. I’m not an expert and just feel lucky when old seeds germinate.

  5. I have had that problem with California and the common Red Poppy. One a few come up and rearly last the season…..


Leave a Reply

