The Stalker

One never knows when it could happen.  The day could start out innocent enough with a stroll about the gardens.  A turn around the corner and then you see her.  The stalker.

Carefully and slowly you try to back away. But you have been spotted.

Your gait becomes faster, but the stalker keeps pace.

The only thing left to do is run to the safety of your home and slam the door tight as the stalker looks on.

And now the back story.  This rabbit was a frequent visitor to the garden and had disappeared for about 6 months.  I assumed she had moved on to a new home or her final destination.  Somehow she is back.  Yes, I admit that I feed the rabbits then complain about them eating my flowers.  This particular one is extremely friendly and comes up to me for food.  Unfortunately,  she thinks the food ejects from my feet, so closed toed shoes are a must.  In the past, the rabbit would wait on the porch for me to feed her. It will be interesting to see if she remembers that trick.

 

19 Comments on “The Stalker”

  1. Too bad you can’t teach the stalker to eat weeds only:^)

  2. Tina says:

    Awe, that’s really cute, though I’m sure I wouldn’t think so if she was nibbling on some of my pretties–or my toes!

  3. Ann Coleman says:

    That’s the kind of stalker we’d all like to have! I think it’s nice that you feed the rabbits, and have even “made friends” with one of them.

  4. So cute, I would feed her too.

  5. FlowerAlley says:

    So cute. I stalk my bunnies and your rabbit stalks you. I love any rabbit.

  6. karenlee says:

    Oh, this makes me smile. How cute. I know, they are quite the nuisance, but….if there is only one….(lol). 😉

  7. shoreacres says:

    I developed the same sort of relationship with some mallards. It was such fun to feed them, and so hard to explain to them that feed-on-demand wasn’t going to be the name of the game.

    Rabbits are darling. i’d feed it, too. And I suspect it will remember both you and the routine. Some of the mallards I raised would migrate, but when they came back, I could make the sound I always used to call them, and they’d come flying.

  8. There’s a rabbit that inhabits a thicket on my lot. He caused a lot of damage to my winter veggie garden, but since spring has arrived, he stays with the easy food. He’s not as friendly as your adorable stalker, though. I have to enjoy him from a distance.

  9. Deb says:

    Now this is the kind of stalker story I enjoy reading!! I, too, have problems with those cuties eating flowers and plants I wished they wouldn’t.. like my yarrow, coneflowers and sweet potatoes vines.

  10. How do you know it’s the same one? She looks just like the one that hangs around here.

    • I spend too much time watching the wildlife in my yard. I can tell by behavior. She will come up to me, and her neck is thin and long. The other rabbit will only get within 6 to 10 feet to me and is chubby. Animals will usually follow a pattern and show up at certain times. I can also recognize some of the lizards. PS. Just recommended your books to a friend. She is interested in writing some family stories.


Leave a Reply

