A Lost Turtle

I was quite surprised to spot this little one as I was walking down the driveway.  A car just used it and luckily the little turtle was close to the grass.

It is a Red Eared Slider and probably made his way from the nearby lake. Mother turtles lay eggs and they are left on their own to hatch and feed themselves.  Turtles can carry salmonella, so I put on some gloves to handle it.

The turtle has very interesting markings and patterns. Red Eared Sliders can live as long as 30 years.  After observing and photographing him for awhile, I walked him to a wet area near the lake where I hope he will live a good long life.

18 Comments on “A Lost Turtle”

  1. Deb says:

    What a pretty fella! Glad to hear that he wasn’t hit! Years ago when the children were small they found a box turtle on the road that was hit. Messed the poor old fella up , his shell was broken ,with cuts. I almost decided he wasn’t worth trying to mend. The children didn’t give up so easily. So out came the super glue, ointment. I glued the broken pieces of shell (that the children picked up) back where they belonged, cleaned up the cuts ,and put ointment on them. We kept him until he was eating good then slowly worked him back into the near by woods. He stayed close by in the woods for we would find him every so often,living healthy.

  2. Pretty turtle, hope he lives long and prospers in the lake!

  3. Ann Coleman says:

    I am old enough that I remember having turtles like that as pets! Then they were banned, for health reasons, I believe. I didn’t know you could still find them in the wild in the States.

  4. So cute! I remember this type being sold at 5&10 stores when I was a child, along with a round plastic pool (about 12-inches wide and 3-inches deep) with an island in the middle with a palm tree. Yes, I am that old! (sigh)

  5. pbmgarden says:

    That is an intricately patterned turtle, lovely.

  6. shoreacres says:

    A couple of weeks ago, I found one trying to cross one of our four-lane roads. I stopped and picked him up, and got him to safety. I recently saw some photos of red-earred sliders at the Lady Bird Johnson wildflower center, and was curious, because I’d read that they’re invasive. Your post reminded me to check things out, and I found that they’re native here, but considered invasive in other areas of the country: California and Oregon come to mind.

    There was a woman down here who used to do turtle rehab. If one only had shell damage, she sometimes used fiberglass to patch it up. Amazing, really.

    • I never thought of turtles being invasive, but I guess it could happen. When I lived in New England, huge snapping turtles were always crossing the road in the spring looking for mates. We were told to never put our fingers into a pond.

  7. Tina says:

    Awe, I hope your turtle finds good eats, a mate and nice digs!

  8. Christina says:

    Wow! what an interesting pattern and lovely colouring; I hope he lives a long and happy life.

  9. Cristina says:

    So beautiful ! Hope the turtle was ok 🙂


Leave a Reply

