Dirt Bath

The planter on my patio table has been constantly  dug up.

Dirt from the planter is flung all over the table and floor.  What animal was doing this?  Naturally, squirrels were the first suspect.  I even put red pepper on the dirt.

One day the culprit was finally revealed.  It was none other than my Carolina Wrens, Frick and Frack that have been taking a dirt bath in the planter.  The first time I witnessed the bath, one of the Wrens enjoyed the dirt for quite awhile and ended with a grand finale of throwing dirt high in the air.

I caught them again and was able to snap a quick photo through the kitchen window with my cell phone.  Frack enjoyed the bath while Frick watched from a chair.  I didn’t get Frick  in the photo.

 

16 Comments on “Dirt Bath”

  1. Christina says:

    It’s ok if it’s the birds but not if it’s squirrels!! I agree.

  2. They certainly make themselves at home, don’t they?

  3. Does the red pepper help keep the animals away?

  4. Tina says:

    Frick and Frack!! Good to see them again. I wish them many hours of dust baths and for you, many hours of bird entertainment.

  5. Laughing, close the screen door?

  6. Deb says:

    I love it , hard to be upset at that cute little face peeking at you from the flowerpot.😊

  7. shoreacres says:

    Now, I’m wondering. I have some pots that are being dug in on a regular basis. I clean up the dirt, put it back in, and the same thing happens. I’d assumed it was my pigeon visitors who were grubbing for seed, but they aren’t particularly shy, and I’d expect to catch them in the act. Now, I’ll look more carefully. Maybe it’s my sparrows, who also like a dirt bath.


Leave a Reply

