I Shall Have Lettuce

I had to give up my vegetable garden years ago, as the only ones enjoying it were the animals that came into the yard day and night.

I miss fresh lettuce and I’m determined to grow some.

dsc_0721

The first step was to elevate the lettuce to keep the rabbits out.  A tall planter was purchased.

dsc_0720

Next, squirrels had to be thwarted from digging by covering the plants with picnic tents.

img_5183

The tents keep lizards out too.

dsc_0719

Finally, the tents had to be tied down so they wouldn’t blow off.

Yes, I shall have lettuce!

 

19 Comments on “I Shall Have Lettuce”

  1. shoreacres says:

    Now, that’s a lot of creativity and persistence. Good for you. All you need now is a little sign to hang from the planter that says, “Let Us Have Lettuce”.

  2. carolee says:

    Good for you! Love your problem solving skills! I wouldn’t have thought of the picnic tents, but that’s a great solution…protection but still ventilation, moisture, & sunlight! Looks like lots of great salads in your future. 🙂

  3. FlowerAlley says:

    Great idea.Thank you. I grow greens.

  4. Good stuff! enjoy your lettuce.

  5. Ann Coleman says:

    That looks like a very clever solution!

  6. A gardener’s gotta do what a gardener’s gotta do!!! 🙂

  7. Chloris says:

    Well you certainly deserve it with all that effort.

  8. Deb says:

    Yea!! I know that lettuce is going to taste good.😊

  9. Christina says:

    Well done, I think salad leaves are one of the most rewarding crops. Enjoy!

  10. That’s awesome! I had to build a fortress around my garden to grow anything and the pocket gophers still found a way under my 2 foot deep fence!


Leave a Reply

