The Hungry Hummer

 

I recently found a use for the slo-mo option on my cell phone.  I have been watching the honey bees empty out the hummingbird feeders and I thought it would be fun to capture them in slow motion.

I situated myself really close, about 12 inches away.  The bees actually hit me a few times, but I wasn’t worried as they were so hungry and only focused on feeding.

As it turned out, someone else was hungry and the Buff-bellied Hummingbird flew into the shot and fed while I was that close!  Enjoy the video.  It can be enlarged.

Hungry Hummingbird from Automatic Gardener on Vimeo.

20 Comments on “The Hungry Hummer”

  1. shoreacres says:

    That’s just wonderful. I noticed two things particularly: the hummer’s tongue (which I don’t think I’ve ever seen before) and the bubbles floating up as it drank. That tiny creature was consuming a lot of sugar water — more than I would have thought.

    • Hummingbirds need to eat about every 20 minutes and at night they go into torpor, which lowers their heart rate and body temperature. Right now my hummer is living off the sugar water as all my flowers froze. They will also eat small insects, which there are plenty. PBS has some great shows on hummingbirds.

  2. Christina says:

    Wow! that’s brilliant, thank you so much for sharing.

  3. That’s cool, especially being able to see the wings. Thanks for sharing. Sarah

  4. Wow! How lucky was that! Loved seeing this.

  5. FlowerAlley says:

    Amazing and awesome. Thank you. I wonder if my cell has slo-mo?

  6. Wonderful! slomo, who would have thought? I have finally seen two hummers here – on the Mexican Flame Vine.

  7. Chloris says:

    Lovely, what a treat, well done.


Leave a Reply

