Cedar Waxwings

dsc_0562

Timing is everything.  As I was preparing my posts on Holly Trees, the Cedar Waxwings arrived to feast on the berries.  I was alerted of the birds presence by my resident birds.  The Cardinals, Titmice, Chickadees and Carolina Wrens gathered to check out the visitors.  (click to enlarge)

dsc_0564

Luckily, the birds stayed long enough that I could get the camera and switch lenses.  Waxwings fly off at the slightest disturbance.  The photos are highly cropped as it was hard to get very close.

dsc_0579

I was very pleased to get an almost perfect shot of this beautiful Cedar Waxwing.


6 Comments on “Cedar Waxwings”

  1. shoreacres says:

    I love waxwings. Last year, there was a large flock around my place, eating the fruit off the palms. The landscapers have cut away all the fruit, so no waxwings this year. One thing I learned about them is that the food they eat can turn that yellow tip on the tail to orange.

    You were lucky to get such nice photos of them. They are quick, and luck plays a big role.

  2. Tina says:

    Oooh, some of my favorite birds. So beautiful and gregarious. Your shot was excellent-they’re always so high up for me to get them clearly!

  3. Sheryl says:

    Great pictures. . . you got some really nice shots of the waxwings.


Leave a Reply

