American Holly Tree

dsc_0309

My property came with some native trees growing on it.  We are on the edge of the Piney Forest, which is being cut down one development at a time, but that is for another post. One of my favorite trees is the  American Holly tree ( Ilex opaca).  It can grow up to 50 feet tall and I think this one is close to that height.

dsc_0435

In the spring it has tiny flowers that have a wonderful scent and attracts lots of bees.  The Holly tree is evergreen, so as the new leaves come out the old ones begin to fall.  The leaves can be used for tea. (Please do your own research before trying.)

Another Holly tomorrow.

 

 

6 Comments on “American Holly Tree”

  1. Tina says:

    Nice bark, that Holly. The spray of sweet flowers remind me very much of the spring flowers of the Possumhaw tree, Ilex decidua–same family of plants, I see.

  2. FlowerAlley says:

    My home is surrounded by pine forests that have been at risk over then years. I have loved “my woods and wildlife” buffering noise around my home. I know your heart breaks seeing these havens cleared. I will not look forward to that post. Back to the Holly…nicely done. I too, love these evergreens for their bark, blooms and berries.

  3. Love the Ilex opacas, we even have them here! East Palatkas though.

  4. shoreacres says:

    This is a new one for me. I know two of the Ilex, the popular yaupon and possumhaw, but I didn’t realize there was such a wonderful tree. So pretty, especially the bark.


Leave a Reply

