Becoming a Wildlife Photographer

 

I thought I would take the plunge and become a wildlife photographer (joking..kinda).  I really wanted to capture my winter Hummingbirds, so I dug out a tripod, put on the long lens and situated a chair with a good view. I sat for awhile and they did not show up.  Being in the yard, I started thinking about gardening chores and decided to get to work.  With that done I came back to the chair to wait again.  The birds still were not hungry, so I went inside to check on dinner.  I headed back out and was finally rewarded.

dsc_0513

I was able to get a decent shot of the Buff-bellied Hummingbird that has been around since Thanksgiving.  I have a photo of him through a window, but this is outside and clearer.  He is tolerating my presence more.  I have enjoyed watching him take showers in gentle rains and baths on the Variegated Ginger and Philodendron leaves.

dsc_0532

This little guy arrived around Christmas.  He is a Rufous Hummingbird and hails from the far northwest.  His color indicates a male.  He is very stealth during feeding and is able to zoom in when the big Buff-bellied is elsewhere.  He drinks for quite awhile, filling up in one visit.

dsc_0534

As far as a career as a wildlife photographer, I think not!  I don’t have the patience to sit for long periods of time, but I certainly admire those who do and produce the wonderful photos for us to enjoy.  I will just go back to getting lucky with a camera in the right place at the right time.

 

19 Comments on “Becoming a Wildlife Photographer”

  1. You got some great shots! Yes, waiting can be very tiring. I get photos of birds from inside too, but they are never very good.

  2. Christina says:

    Great shots, maybe you moving around a lot will make them get used to you quicker?

  3. Living Soils says:

    Very nice pictures of hummingbirds. Maybe you shouldn’t joke about becoming a photographer – you’re pretty good at it. Thanks.

  4. Ann Coleman says:

    Those are amazing photos of the hummingbirds! You may not have the patience to be a full-time wild life photographer, but I’d say you do have the talent.

  5. FlowerAlley says:

    This was like sunshine. My hummers left in November. Thank you.

  6. atkokosplace says:

    These are great! It’s not so much that I don’t have patience, I just have too much to do to give myself the time to do so. But oh would I love to be a wildlife photographer! You have inspired me to get a humming bird feeder. I would see them a lot in California, but here in the south, not so much. Perhaps a feeder would help! Happy 2017!

  7. shoreacres says:

    I’d say your photos capture the spirit of your hummers perfectly. They’re such fun birds, and it always is a treat to see them “stopped” in midair by the camera. I hope they have a nice warm place for the next few nights. I heard geese flying high and fast today, for the first time this season. The cold’s a-coming.

  8. Great photos! I was chasing a flock of Hawks (!) with my cell phone trying to get a picture. Yours worked out much better!

  9. Sheryl says:

    The pictures are wonderful. They definitely were worth all the effort and waiting. Hummingbirds are such interesting birds.

  10. Sooooo cute!!! I see that you don’t add food coloring to your sugar water and that they still come to the feeder.

  11. Chloris says:

    But you always produce such great shots. How exciting having these beautiful hummimgbirds in your garden.


Leave a Reply

