Flashback Friday – Christmas Treats

DSC_0113

Those who have to eat Gluten Free can feel a little left out at Christmas time.  Most of the delicious sweet treats are off limits for us.  I have gathered a few alternatives that use everyday ingredients easily found at the market.  The best part is that most of the recipes just happen to be GF, so everyone will enjoy them.  Make some treats for yourself and always take some with you to holiday parties.

Also, there are now many mixes offered that aren’t so bad.  Yes, I have never been a big fan of them, but they are improving. 

Here is a quick change up to make Christmas Brownies from a mix.

Choose your favorite brand of brownie mix.

Add 2 teaspoons of peppermint extract into the mix.

10 minutes before baking is done sprinkle crushed candy canes over the top (about 1/3 cup or as much as you want).

 

Take a look at the Christmas recipes and maybe one will become a new family favorite.

Gluten Free Sweets for Christmas (or any time).

Peppermint Bark

 

PS  If you are newly diagnosed or know someone who is, check out my Gluten Free collection of recipes that are naturally GF using everyday ingredients.

HAPPY EATING!!

4 Comments on “Flashback Friday – Christmas Treats”

  1. shoreacres says:

    I’m taking treats to a meeting on Monday, and wanted to take something gluten free, even though I usually don’t consider such things. I remembered an old treat from our Christmas celebrations: dates, pitted and stuffed with a mixture of cream cheese and chopped pecans. I gave it a go, and my goodness — I think those need to go into my usual rotation. They were so good.

    The peppermint bark is another one I’m going to try. I do love peppermint. The unofficial start of the holiday season for me always is when the Bluebell peppermint ice cream hits the shelves.

  2. Love this short cut. These days, seems there’s never enough time for baking.


Leave a Reply

