Mourning Dove

dsc_0232

Doves have never been a favorite bird of mine.  I don’t like the sounds they make and they sit in the feeder leaving droppings, not politely hanging their tails over the edge as the other birds do.

But while testing out a lens for my camera, I took a photo of a Mourning Dove and blew it up for a closer look.  I was surprised to see the blue ring around its eye which also continued on the beak.  The Dove’s wings also look shimmery in the photo.

I did some research to find out that Mourning Doves are monogamous and both parents care for their young.  They can have up to six broods of two a year.  Maybe after a closer look, I will think of them more kindly.


12 Comments on “Mourning Dove”

  1. Tina says:

    Like you, I’m not particularly fond of doves in general, though I like Mourning and Inca doves. I can do without Whitewings, though they’re generally the birds I see the most. Lovely photo!

  2. Ann Coleman says:

    Not unlike people: the more we get to know about them, the easier it is to like them! Sometimes…

  3. shoreacres says:

    One of the great griefs of my life is that the pigeons ran off the doves who used to come to my feeders. They’re among my favorite birds.

    I once witnessed parent doves leaving their youngster to fend for itself. The family had been coming to the feeder for some time. They always flew back to their roost just before full dark. One night, they didn’t leave. It got darker and darker, while the parents sat on either side of the baby. Finally, it was pitch dark, and the parents flew away, leaving the youngster on the railing. It moved near a schefflera I had, and stayed there all night. By sunrise, the parents still hadn’t returned, and eventually the young dove flew.

    They all kept coming to the feeder for a few days, but never again as a group. It was so touching. Everyone has to grow up!

  4. Nice photo you got there!
    I love these birds. They stick together, talk to each other, clean each other’s feathers, and are a soothing presence on my office window in the warm months.

  5. Sheryl says:

    Wow, 6 broods in a year is a lot. I enjoyed learning more about mourning doves.


Leave a Reply

