Passion Flower Update

dsc_0353

In a recent post, I had documented how the Gulf Fritillary caterpillars ate all the leaves off my Passion Flower Vine.  Many readers told me the leaves would grow back and they did.  But just enough to feed one hungry caterpillar.  On the top leaves are eggs that may be future caterpillars.

dsc_0343

Some of the caterpillars got enough to eat and were able to make a chrysalis.  I think they look like little hanging bats.

dsc_0344

Here is the back view of another chrysalis.  Some of them have survived and transformed into butterflies. Now I have quite a few Gulf Fritillaries sunning themselves and feeding on Fall blooming flowers.

8 Comments on “Passion Flower Update”

  1. shoreacres says:

    I’m glad I read this before heading off to work. I saw some Gulf frittilaries yesterday, and smiled. Now I can smile that you have some, too.

  2. Ann Coleman says:

    That’s got to be frustrating! So sorry!

  3. Yay! I just planted some Coontie for the butterflies – one kind uses it and they are neat little guys. Stay tuned for a few years, I have some major Passionflowers if you want some seed.

  4. Chloris says:

    Funny little spiky caterpillar and brown bat -like chrysalis. How amazing that they turn in to such beautiful butterflies.

  5. Sheryl says:

    I like how the post moves the reader through the frustration of the caterpillars on the plant to the beauty of the butterflies that eventually emerged.


Leave a Reply

