A Confederate Rose Cutting

dsc_0295

The Confederate Rose (Hibiscus mutabilis) is one of my favorite Fall bloomers.

dsc_0299

I was trimming my Confederate Rose and decided to stick some of the cuttings into my rooting pot.  They rooted in no time, which is why in the South, they  are great Passalong plants.  It is nice to imagine friends and family sharing their plants with each other as the population moved west.

dsc_0303

As I already had a large Confederate Rose, I was not that interested in another one, so I stuck the cutting in a broken plastic pot filled with old dirt. Basically, it looked like a big stick in a pot.

dsc_0307

It grew well and rewarded me with its gorgeous flowers.  If you follow my blog, you know I can’t get enough of them.

Here are some photos of the Confederate Rose as it turned from morning white to dark pink in the evening.

14 Comments on “A Confederate Rose Cutting”

  1. I like the tree form, hope it stays that way. Next summer you’ll have to put it in a bigger pot and underplant it with annuals.

  2. Jinnette says:

    This is really interesting! How beautiful they are–something so simple yet beautiful!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Tina says:

    What a beautiful plant and flower!

  4. Christina says:

    Oh, wow! I thought the photographs were of different varieties until I reached the last paragraph where I found the beautiful white changed to an amazing pink.

  5. pbmgarden says:

    Lovely how Confederate Rose changes color so quickly.

  6. Chloris says:

    Beautiful flowers. I have never seen it here. The flowers change just like Nicotiana mutabilis.

  7. Gorgeous! I can see why you love it so.


Leave a Reply

