Good News, Bad News

dsc_0049

I was very happy when my Passion Flower finally bloomed after having no flowers for years.

dsc_0225

I was thrilled when the Gulf Fritillary Butterflies laid eggs and caterpillars appeared on the the Passion Flower Vine.

And of course, the good news is that there are lots of butterflies in the garden.

dsc_0275

The bad news is that there are too many caterpillars for one plant and they have eaten almost all the leaves from the only vine I have.

17 Comments on “Good News, Bad News”

  1. shoreacres says:

    I attended a Native Plant Society-sponsored workshop on Saturday, and this was one of the issues addressed (the topic was landscaping with native plants). The point was made that, despite how things sometimes appear, even total defoliation doesn’t’ necessarily mean death. The insects know when to stop, so they don’t destroy their food source. Or so they said.

    One of the presenters also mentioned that small cubes of organic and washed butternut squash and zuchinni could be used if the foliage is consumed but there still are caterpillars about. He emphasized ONLY organic and WELL washed, but said it’s perfectly acceptable nutrition for them. Who knew?

    • I have never head of using the vegetables. I hope the leaves will be back. There are many native Passion Flowers or Maypop behind my house, but the butterflies were only laying eggs on my potted store-bought plant.

  2. Christina says:

    Is your passion flower vine the type that produces the edible fruit. I grew one from a seed and the vine is huge (growing in the greenhouse but there are no flowers. any tips?

    • Mine does not make fruit. It is in a pot and I moved it to the hot and sunny driveway and gave it lots of fertilizer. Before it received no fertilizer.

      • Christina says:

        That’s useful to know. I haven’t fed mine. It is also huge so maybe I should prime it back and maybe stress it a bit, then perhaps it will flower. I would be so happy if it did produce some fruit.

  3. Tina says:

    Gotta take the bad with the good. 🙂 The vine will leaf out again, though I know it looks like ick for now. I’ve never had my passion vine eaten to death, though I can’t say the same for milkweed. That white flower is a stunner!

  4. Ann Coleman says:

    I guess there’s always a good and bad side to just about everything! Enjoy the butterflies, and try not to look at the plant!

  5. The vine will come back, I see that happen here.

  6. Summer Daisy says:

    Butterflies in the garden sounds wonderful ♥

  7. Chloris says:

    Worth sacrificing your passion flower for these gorgeous butterflies.


Leave a Reply

