Flashback Friday

____________________________

This week I am flashing back to a pair of Pileated Woodpeckers that spent a Saturday morning in the backyard.

I took a birding class and the instructor said that he did not see these birds very often.  There always seems to be some in my area.  They may not always be seen, but I often hear them.

Recently, a Pileated was making a ruckus in my trees, when suddenly a hawk flew across the yard with the woodpecker in hot pursuit.

Take at look back at Pileated Practice.


6 Comments on “Flashback Friday”

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    Are those also called “red-headed woodpeckers?”

  2. Sheryl says:

    I’m not sure whether I’ve ever seen a pileated woodpecker, but the trees in the yard of a house where we used to live had distinctive pileated holes.

  3. Chloris says:

    Beautiful birds, what a privelege to see them.


Leave a Reply

