Eat Away…

dsc_0219

little caterpillars.  For once I don’t mind the destruction of my plants.  The garden has been lacking butterflies for the last several years and I am delighted to see the return of a few.  A Monarch has been floating around, probably on its way to Mexico.

dsc_0225

These caterpillars are on the Passion Flower and they are Gulf Fritillarry Caterpillars.  The butterfly is also attracted to the wild Maypops that grow in the area.


8 Comments on “Eat Away…”

  1. shoreacres says:

    I saw more monarchs than I have in recent years yesterday, in East Texas. At least, I’m pretty sure they were monarchs rather than Queens. I’m not so good at on-the-wing identification, so maybe it’s wishful ID-ing, but there were a lot of the whatevers, and they were beautiful.

    • They may have been Monarchs as they head through this area on the way to Mexico. I just read that I-35 is called the Monarch Highway and have been heavily planted with milkweed from Minnesota on down through Texas.

  2. I get those here as well, their favorite thing is the native Allamanda.

  3. Ann Coleman says:

    Sounds as if the caterpillars will be worth it if you get the butterflies!

  4. Christina says:

    Many people forget that you have to feed the caterpillars to have the butterflies; well done for being happy that they are there and eating something you planted.


Leave a Reply

