One More Snake

Rough Earth Snake

One day after my snake post, I came across another snake in the garden. This is a Rough Earth Snake and helps out by eating snails, larvae and bugs.

Rough Earth Snake

The  Rough Earth Snake is nonvenomous and only grows 7 to 10 inches long.  This one was lounging on top of a potted Air Potato Vine.

6 Comments on “One More Snake”

  1. shoreacres says:

    This is a fine-looking specimen. I know almost nothing about snakes, and probably could identify only the garter snake and the coral snake, which I’ve seen far too many times. Well, and rattlesnakes. I like the way the snake itself seems to be “vining” its way through the plant.

  2. Chloris says:

    Even knowing that it’ s non- venomous, it sends a shiver up my spine. The only ones I come across in my garden are the totally harmless grass snakes and slow worms. They still scare me. I don’ t know why.

  3. Ann Coleman says:

    Now that’s the kind of snake I like!

  4. karen says:

    Quite useful to have an ally in the fight against slugs and snails. But no, I’m so glad we only have grass snakes in our garden. Couldn’t cope with an array of them. Thanks for sharing your photos – Karen.


Leave a Reply

