Flashback Friday

dsc_0178

This week I’m looking back at my post on Four O’Clocks.  I was very excited by the easy to grow plant and all the seeds it produced. But, the excitement ended soon.  It reseeded prolifically and a mature plant is impossible to pull out due to its tuber.   The Four O’Clocks have woven their way between plants and only revealed themselves when they started to  bloom.  Now it is hard to pull up the beautiful blooming plants that are attracting night pollinators and smell so wonderfully, so I will just wait until they have finished blooming.

A word to the wise.  If you live in a warm climate where the plants will not freeze to death, plant them only where they can be controlled!

Check out Four O’Clocks, if you dare.

 


8 Comments on “Flashback Friday”

  1. I was looking at Four O Clocks in my brother’s garden last week and was sorely tempted. I resisted….having once seen a quarter acre of them in someone’s backyard.

  2. Tina says:

    I always wanted four o’clocks and someone gifted me several about two years ago. They don’t do that well for me. They’re lovely in spring and fall when it’s cool and wet, but really suffer and look bad in summer. I won’t baby anything, so I’m pulling them out. I’ll just have to enjoy yours!!

  3. Chloris says:

    Now, you have me baffled. What on earth are Four Oclocks? Latin please?


Leave a Reply

