Taking the Heat

Summer days have become extremely hot.  Here on the Gulf Coast a heat index of 108 degrees calls for a heat advisory and this week we reached it.  Humans are told to stay out of the heat and take it easy.  Most of the plants are pretty much doing the same, taking it easy that is.  But, a few flowers can take the heat such as the pair of Zinnias above.

DSC_0032

The Tropical Hibiscus scoffs at the high temperatures and has just started blooming.

The Cigar Plant (Cuphea ignea) and Hummingbird Bush (Hamelia patens) do not have spectacular flowers, but Hummingbirds sure love them and are not using the feeder.

DSC_0046

For some reason, the Gardenia has started to bloom again.  Their sweet scent is always appreciated.


9 Comments on “Taking the Heat”

  1. Tina says:

    108 heat index as I type. C’mon fall!! Your flowers are tough and pretty–nice choices!

  2. pbmgarden says:

    Beautiful flowers. Nice to see gardenia in bloom again. Heed that warning and take care of yourself.

  3. Love the zinnias, did not realize H. patens would grow that far north, I think that is H. patens var patens, which is a Florida as opposed to South Africa or somewhere native. Leaves are fuzzy on the Florida one.
    This morning it was so humid here I looked at the weather, 86 degrees, similar humidity and heat index of 108, maybe 8 am. I wasn’t outside for long!

    • The bushes do freeze back here. I replanted one every year, until someone finally told me it would come back from the roots. I have so much to do in the garden and can’t get out to work either.

      • Interesting, I have never seen the Firebush til moving to Florida. I think some of them are from Mexico and the Caribbean, which may explain it being in Texas. Do you have White Geiger/Texas Wild Olive, I have just planted one.?

      • It may very well be from Mexico, which is the source of many of our plants that grow really well here. My Hummingbird Bush comes up all over the yard from seed. I kept one and it is nearly 10 feet tall now. I have a shrub we call Sweet Olive, Osmanthus fragrans, I believe is its correct name. The scent is really strong and it blooms at odd times.

      • That makes a lot of sense! My mother called the Osmanthus Tea Olive, it is common in Atlanta.

  4. Those flowers still look lovely, despite the heat. We’re having very hot weather here too. I’ve taken to wearing a hat when outdoors.


Leave a Reply

