More Turtles

DSC_0166

There is something about my backyard that seems to attract turtles.  These photos were taken several years ago of a pair of Box Turtles.  Box Turtles have visited frequently.  The turtles blend into the leaf debris and are hard to see.

DSC_0163

Well, these two were definitely up to something.  The smaller one with the bright orange head is a male.  I once had a sighting of a female digging a hole to lay eggs, but she changed her mind.  Many turtle eggs do not hatch because of predators eating them.

Take a look at this previous post of a Red Slider that showed up also.

5 Comments on “More Turtles”

  1. I see the turtles as well, maybe they like our gardens!

  2. Ann Coleman says:

    I love box turtles! There’s just something so cool about them…

  3. Sheryl says:

    We also occasionally get turtles in our yard, and similarly to you, I’ve seen them digging holes to lay eggs. I think that the ones I’ve seen actually laid the eggs – though I’ve never actually seen any baby turtles.


Leave a Reply

