Flashback Friday

During a recent trip to Philadelphia, I bought a mug of a William Bartram ‘s drawing of the Franklinia Altamalia.  It was first seen in the South by John Bartram and his son William.  Later William was able to collect some seeds and named the plant after a family friend, Benjamin Franklin.  All the Franklin Trees that exit today are from those seeds, as all the plants in the wild have disappeared.

The mug inspired today Flashback, William Bartram.

 

5 Comments on “Flashback Friday”

  1. I attended the University of Georgia, this tree was a big deal there!

    • Ohhh! They found it in Georgia didn’t they? Bartram’s garden and Philly work really hard to get it to grow there, but I don’t think the climate is right. Do they have many there?

      • Yes, the Altamaha river is in South Georgia. I think I have seen one of these, in somebody’s garden – very hard to grow. They are discussed a lot, really like a single white Yuletide Camellia if you know that plant.

  2. Sheryl says:

    I’m not familiar with this tree. It’s interesting how it has a Philadelphia connection.

    • When I discovered John Bartram and his son, I couldn’t get enough of them. I followed one of their trips, by map, up to Niagara accompanying the Indian chief Shikellamy, that we studied in Jr. High PA history.


Leave a Reply

