I’ve Created a Monster!

IMG_4062

This morning Patch, the rabbit, came charging out of nowhere straight for my feet and scared the bejeebers out of me.  I put down the seed and ran.

Yes, I do enjoy watching the rabbits and we usually think of them as helpless prey animals.  Do any of you remember Jimmy Carter, the boat and rabbit story?  I swear I once saw a rabbit kill a Copperhead snake.  Well, from a distance.  The rabbit was jumping oddly up and down, and when I checked it out I saw a dead snake and a bloody rabbit.  I definitely respect wild rabbits.

IMG_4081

Mr. Cardinal was not happy with the rabbit getting the seed intended for his breakfast, so I headed back to the garage to get him his share.

16 Comments on “I’ve Created a Monster!”

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    Makes you rethink that whole “timid as a rabbit” thing, doesn’t it?

  2. This is adorable. The only time our wild rabbits upset me is when they eat the tops off the bean plants before they have a chance to grow. I would share the beans with them if I could just get the plants growing.

  3. Chloris says:

    Goodness, be careful. I think you should be very afraid if your local rabbits can kill snakes. Whatever are you putting into the seed?

  4. Seems you have very smart Texan rabbits.

  5. Anonymous says:

    bejeebers… long time since I herd that word.

  6. I feel the same about the rabbits – we could co-exist quite well if they would just give certain veggies a chance to grow and bear. Although I do notice that when the clover is plentiful in the lawn, they tend to get distracted by it, but that is usually later on. Now, do remind me: how come you gave a name to a wild rabbit?


Leave a Reply

