Dutchman’s Pipe

DSC_1002

Dutchman’s Pipe is a visually interesting flower.

DSC_0925

This plant has had its ups and downs.  It is in a large pot and was almost dead, but suddenly started growing again.  I moved it closer to the back door where it could get plenty of TLC.

DSC_0929

I was rewarded with a flowers.  This Dutchman’s Pipe is a tropical and the flower is nearly 7 inches long.  It puts out its scent in the morning and smells lemony.

DSC_0999

There are about 500 varieties of Dutchman’s and  some natives grow in Eastern United States.  I pinned its smaller cousin next to it.

DSC_0932

The design on the flower is mesmerizing.


7 Comments on “Dutchman’s Pipe”

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    I’ve never seen a flower like that! Probably because I live too far north?

  2. Great pictures! Those plants just weird me out.

  3. Tina says:

    A neighbor grows this plant near a trellis–I just love it! Your photos are terrific–not sure which one I like best….

  4. pbmgarden says:

    I’ve heard of this plant. Very interesting to see and must be fun for you to watch it recover.


Leave a Reply

