Baby Announcement for Frick and Frack

IMG_3951

Frick and Frack’s three eggs have hatched.  Meet the newest Carolina Wrens, Frank, Frankie and Freeda.

DSC_0853

Mom and Dad have been busy keeping them fed.  It is a multi-step process getting to the nest and making sure no predators are watching.

DSC_0865

The meals have been small moths, little worms and various bugs.

DSC_0866

I missed  the shot, but the parent was pulling out a fecal sac.  The nest is kept very clean.

IMG_3955

When I finally got the shots I wanted for the post,  I noticed that evening the adult Wrens were not tending the nest.  I grabbed a flashlight to see inside and found the nest empty.  It was the day the baby Carolina Wrens were ready to go out into the world.  I wish them well!


3 Comments on “Baby Announcement for Frick and Frack”

  1. Tina says:

    They grow up so quickly!! I adore Carolina Wrens, so I’m tickled that there are a few more in the world. A pair that spend time in my garden had a nest, though I never figured out where it was–probably the neighbor’s house. I was out of town last weekend and on Tuesday morning, I saw the parents ushering a new fledgling into the world of flight. I’m guessing all is well, as they’re still around. Yay for Carolina Wrens!

  2. Sheryl says:

    The babies are adorable. I wish them well as they go out into the world. 🙂


Leave a Reply

