All in One Day

IMG_3939

I was checking a bed in the backyard when I hear a loud ruckus on the other side of the fence.  A flock of Bluejays were screaming and  Chickadees were joining in.  I was hoping to see a Barred Owl or an Eagle, but the birds were low in the trees and looking at the ground.  The animal upsetting them was a Rat Snake.

IMG_3937

The Rat Snake was slinking away and going for cover.  He looks lumpy and maybe just ate. The brave little Chickadees were right above him and didn’t seem to mind me being there.  Rat Snakes can crawl up trees and eat eggs and baby birds.  This one was quite long and they can get up to 6 feet in length.  According to my research, they curl up and defend themselves, are not venomous, but will bite. This snake allowed me to snap quite a few photos with my phone.  I have encountered them before and never found the Rat Snakes vicious and they usually slither away.

IMG_3942

Next, I headed to the front yard to collect Poppy seeds.  I noticed this Copperhead right before I stepped on the rock.  It is still a baby and I have been told they are more venomous than adults.  I find Copperheads just like to watch.

IMG_3940

And not as scary, I found a Crawfish hole.  Apparently, there are various kinds of these creatures, but are all very similar.  They can also be called Crayfish.  Crayfish is the name an English scientist gave to them and Crawfish is the American name and used in the South.  Crawfish it shall be.  Unwelcomed   critters seemed to show up in the garden all in one day.


7 Comments on “All in One Day”

  1. Tina says:

    Big snakes!! Wow, all I have are the little garden guys, usually less than 10 inches, or so. Those little birds are remarkable brave as they sound the alarm calls, aren’t they?

  2. Is there a Copperhead family in your garden? We have Black Racers, I think they eat everybody else, which is fine with me.

  3. Chloris says:

    My goodness. You had me cringing under the bedclothes. You talk about these snakes so casually. I would never dare set foot in the garden if snakes lurked in every crevice. Seriously scary.


Leave a Reply

