Gulf Coast Penstemon

IMG_3745

The Gulf Coast Penstemon (Penstemon tenuis) was especially prolific this year.  The photo does not reflect how good the plant actually looks.

DSC_0667

A closer view shows all the tiny bell shaped flowers. They bloom in early spring and reseed easily.  Then the spikes can be cut back and a rosette of leaves stay green all winter.

DSC_0668

The white insides are striped with purple lines.

FullSizeRender

Best of all, the bees are enjoying the Penstemon’s nectar.


8 Comments on “Gulf Coast Penstemon”

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    Those are so pretty!

  2. Tina says:

    One of my favorite plants!! Mine are almost done blooming. I guess if I have a complaint about the Gulf penstemon is that they don’t bloom all that long. It’s also a plant that isn’t particularly photogenic, though I’ve never figured out why. I’m glad you pointed out that yours looks better in real life.

    • I saw on your blog that yours were earlier. I was very excited last year when they bloomed for the first time and I spread seeds everywhere and they grew. Now I have the problem of too many!

  3. I was offered some of these over the weekend. I declined due to reseeding – they are really pretty now that I see yours!

    Are you getting swamped? (my sister is in Houston)

  4. This is one penstemon I never found. I would have like it.


Leave a Reply

