Flashback Friday

IMG_3759

This Poppy is one of my favorite flowers.  I was visiting a botanical garden, back when I was just beginning to garden, and spotted what I thought was the most beautiful flower I had ever seen.  I went into the visitor center to ask what it was and the attendant gave me some seeds!  That was close to 20 years ago.  The Poppies (and I don’t have their name) are very finicky, but I have grown and harvested their seeds for all these years.  Take a look at one of my favorite posts, Poppy Love.

7 Comments on “Flashback Friday”

  1. Fabulous, I love Poppies as well, but have had no luck here. When do you plant the seeds? It looks like partial shade??

    • The Poppies seem to have a lot of rules to get them to grow. They can be sown outside as early as October in our climate , but don’t like a lot of rain while small, they will rot. They do not like to be transplanted. They do not like to have tree leaves on them. I also never plant all the seeds at once to ensure something will grow. They can take a southern cold snap. They like mostly sun. They do like a little fertilizer. Most of the people I share the seeds with, cannot grow them. They must be watched daily. And that’s how I grow Poppies!

  2. Chloris says:

    Opium poppies, they are so pretty and once you have them, they keep on seeding around.


Leave a Reply

