Winter Flowers

DSC_0619

DSC_0624

DSC_0618

DSC_0612

DSC_0620

DSC_0587

DSC_0615

Even on the Gulf Coast, flowers aren’t as prolific in the winter.  When the blooms slow down, I like to add a few winter annuals for some color.  Most of the new plants decided to take a winter nap and have recently opened up for spring, doubling the flower power.

 


10 Comments on “Winter Flowers”

  1. I have been enjoying seeing everyone else’s pansies and haven’t tried any here. I think they might roast! The dianthus is beautiful as well, what are the yellow and orange flowers?

    • Pansies are only good in the winter and I get them every once in awhile. Dianthus work well for fall through winter and the animals don’t eat them. I had to look for the plant labels as I know they will not last. The yellow is Calendula and orange is a Strawflower.

      • A ha, I sort of recognized those, my mother used to grow Strawflowers hoping for fabulous dried arrangements. I can’t recall any fabulous arrangements! maybe 3 flowers. I did grow Dianthus in Atlanta sometimes but it very often got turned to mush by the frost. I have had Coleus and Herbs and bromeliads this winter, I was thinking I should get some flowers it is pretty foliagey.

  2. Tina says:

    Beautiful photos–really captures the “sweet” of all of those flowers.

  3. Love those bright colors for these dreary wet days!

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Bright and cheerful, and beautiful colours. Always lovely to see!

  5. Sheryl says:

    The flowers are beautiful! It’s always so much fun as they awake from their winter nap.

  6. Lovely! How can these flowers not put a person in a good mood? Thanks for making me smile.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Such beautiful flowers


Leave a Reply

