Passalong Plants

IMG_3424Passalong plants are a gardening tradition.  It is a way to fill your garden and share with others.  Receiving plants from someone’s garden guarantees it grows well in the environment, which is why there are enough to share.  And that is the good news and bad news, as soon you will be looking for someone to pass the plants along to.

All the plants pictured here are passalongs I have received.  They are all doing really, really well!


19 Comments on “Passalong Plants”

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great pictures

  2. Lovely passalong plants and photos and a great concept for sharing. I like it so much that I plan to do a spin on this in an upcoming post. I will link to your article. Thanks so much for sharing.

  3. Chloris says:

    I love the term Passalong plants. These plants make up such an important part of our gardens. Gardeners are generous souls and love to share their treasures. This means that memories of friends no longer with us, live on in the plants they gave us.

    • Yes, I think of each person that gave me the plants when I am caring for them. I am going to do a post some day on a plant my grandparents gave me. My grandparents have been gone for over 40 years and the plants are so special to me.

  4. Yes, I am looking for some passalong takers, just hate to throw good plants away.

  5. Tina says:

    So is it “passalong” or “pass-along”? 🙂 So many things that I grow were gifted to me by others and I’ve in turned, done the same. The passion for sharing is one of the many things about gardening and gardeners that is special.

  6. gaiainaction says:

    What a very nice thought.

  7. Sheryl says:

    I’ve also found that passalong plants are the ones that do the best in my garden. Plants I buy at the store tend to be hit or miss as to how well they grow in my yard–but plants my neighbors give me inevitably do well.

  8. Val says:

    Lovely – and are those pink Japanese anemones? (We have white ones. I’ve not seen pink ones before.)


Leave a Reply

