Unbelievable

DSC_0690

I had always wanted a wild bird to land on me.  I have tried enticing them with a container of seed.  Some birds looked and thought about landing, but never did.

Recently, I was standing in the yard preparing to get to work on a bed.  I had my cell phone out and was turning on a podcast to listen to while working.  The phone was flat in my hand when, unbelievably, a Goldfinch landed on it!  Wow!  As it turned out, the bird was just as surprised as me.  I gave a tiny jerk and it flew off to the feeder.

As I have observed the Goldfinches over the years and I find that they are usually really tired and hungry when they arrive.  This one probably just miscalculated and thought I was the feeder.


12 Comments on “Unbelievable”

  1. That is great, I haven’t seen any Goldfinches yet.

    • They usually show up from Christmas on. I have a nice size flock this year, but in the past the flocks have been triple in size…and made quite a “mess” in the yard.

      • Our feathered friends can be a double edged sword! They tend to show up en mass when it gets really cold further north – some are here but not the usual quantity as of yet.

  2. Tina says:

    Wow, what a wonderful experience. I haven’t seen any goldfinches for a while, though I’ll bet they’re still around.

  3. How fun is that! Our goldfinches have yet to show up.

  4. Sheryl says:

    Wow, it’s amazing that a bird landed on your phone. I’m had friends who owned parakeets and parrots that have sat on my finger–but I have never felt like a wild bird was even close to feeling comfortable enough with my presence to even consider landing on me.

  5. They are such beautiful animated birds.
    We usually see a lot of them in the summer!

    Enjoy your weekend.

  6. Maybe it just wanted to send a tweet? 😉


Leave a Reply

