The Circle of Life in the Backyard

 

I had made this post a few months back and never published it.  I walked out into the yard and saw the same scene in almost the same spot, so I thought it would be relevant to put the post up now.

 

DSC_0622

I had just walked back into the house when I heard a loud ruckus in the yard.  I looked in time to see a hawk swooping up from the yard with prey in its claws.  A flock of Bluejays were screaming in pursuit.

DSC_0637

After examining the feathers that were left behind, I believe the hawk caught a dove like the one in the photo.  These doves tend to sit around in the yard.  A hawk attack is  certainly a hard thing to witness, but it has to eat too.

18 Comments on “The Circle of Life in the Backyard”

  1. Nature, that is just how it works. At first glance I thought it was going to be your cat!

  2. I do feel a bit sorry for the doves and other ground feeders, though. We also have hawks, plus a neighborhood cat that stalks the area around my birdfeeders. The hawks benefit from a kill, but I drive the cat away when I have the chance.

  3. Tina says:

    As I walked my dog early this morning, I noticed a scattering of dove feathers just below a neighbor’s live oak tree–with the addition of a tell-tale red-tailed hawk feather. Someone had a good meal over the weekend. You’re right–everyone has to eat!

  4. Not sure why but they do tend to favor those poor doves! We get lots of those feathers around here, too. Knock on wood, haven’t seen any this year. Yet. 😉

  5. Ann Coleman says:

    I love nature, but sometimes it isn’t kind. Like you, I know the hawk has to eat, but it’s still hard not to feel sorry for the dove!

  6. Chloris says:

    Oh dear, your poor doves are obviously sitting ducks.

  7. gaiainaction says:

    Gosh that must have been something! It’s never nice to see or hear a creature being killed even for food, it is one of the most frustrating and difficult things to understand about ‘nature’ I feel, that this is the way it is – creature eating creature…… I just cannot get my head around it, and it’s not out of sentimentality, I just would like to understand it, the why of it…

  8. We’ve had sparrow hawks hunt at our bird feeders. I look at it this way, we feed the little birds and as a result there are more of them. The little birds feed the big birds and so it goes. You do have to admit that it’s pretty impressive watching a hawk do what it was born to do.


Leave a Reply

