Abelmoschus

Abelmoschus moschatus makes a pretty flower.  It is in the Malvaceae family and is related to hibiscus and okra.  This plant has been drifting around the garden for years and I really can’t remember how  or where I got.  I think it was probably a passalong plant and I do remember passing it along to others.

DSC_0435

The Abelmoschus has popped up in the yard again and I dispersed the seeds to  different locations.  The top photo has the plant growing in a bed that receives sun part of the day.  The very red Ablemoschus, is growing in a self-watering pot in the driveway getting high heat and sun.  Are the colors different because of sun exposure and soil? Anyway, I will be collecting the seeds and see if I can get a colony started again.

 


One Comment on “Abelmoschus”


Leave a Reply

