Unusual Visitor

DSC_0509

An unusual creature was hanging out on the Variegated Ginger. It is some kind of toad as its skin is bumpy.  I have never seen one this color.

DSC_0514

It is probably a Gulf Coast Toad, although all the ones I have ever seen in the garden are brown.  I have never seen one of the brown toads climb.  Tree Frogs sleep on plants during the day, but are not bumpy.  Is this a sick creature or an unusual visitor?  I couldn’t find much on the internet and I would love help identifying it.


14 Comments on “Unusual Visitor”

  1. Tina says:

    Nice shots! I think it’s a true frog–what kind, I have no idea, but you’re right when you say that toads don’t climb. He/she’s a cutie!

  2. Chloris says:

    What a cute little fellow he is. Sorry, I can’ t help, we have nothing like that here.

  3. Look up Cuban Treefrogs – you may be too far north?

  4. They do! it could be like an annual, I don’t think they will tolerate frost and the poop produced is prodigious you would notice it, I think.

  5. mattb325 says:

    Wow, what a cute little critter – almost looks like someone has painted him with that faux copper paint effect 🙂

  6. Sheryl says:

    The frog is adorable. His coloring almost blends in with some of the hues on the leaf.

  7. Do you know the scientific name of your rain lilies?


Leave a Reply

