Interesting Visitor

IMG_2702

A large turtle showed up in the wooded are of the backyard.  It was a little more than 9 inches long.

IMG_2712

I tried to identify it and the closest I found was Red Slider Turtle.  There is a red line on the side of its face.  Red Sliders live in and near water.  This one is on the big side.

IMG_2708

The nearest body of water is two blocks away.  The most direct path would have taken the turtle through thick growth until it reached houses.  At that point the turtle would have had to get under a back fence and then the front fence.  Next, the turtle would have to cross a street without getting hit by a car.

IMG_2715

Finally,  the turtle had to crawl up a small hill that is my front yard and make it under my fence. (The front yard also has a wooded area.) So why is the turtle in my back yard?  My best guess is that this is a female and she may be here to lay her eggs.  This property is the highest on this side of the lake, maybe it has been a traditional place for turtle to lay their eggs where they would be high and dry.  I will keep my eye out for baby turtles.

Or maybe, the turtle was just out for a walk.

 

11 Comments on “Interesting Visitor”

  1. mattb325 says:

    How amazing – I love turtles, but I have never seen any in the wild here, much less been lucky enough to have them in my own yard! Great photos!

    • Well, the photos were taken with my cell phone. I have found turtles are much faster than you would think and didn’t want to it to get away while I got my camera. I will have another post coming up of different turtle in my yard.

  2. Love the turtles, it looks like our Painted Turtles.

  3. Chloris says:

    She is beautiful. How exciting having a turtle in your garden. I didn’ t realise that there are so many different kinds of turtle.

  4. So if you had a pond in your garden, do you think she would stay? 🙂


Leave a Reply

