A “Chocolate Kiss” Morning

IMG_2554

There are many ways to jolt yourself awake in the morning.  I was out early feeding the birds, when I noticed a tree branch had fallen into a bed.  I started to grab it and spotted a coiled snake with a distinct pattern of chocolate kisses on its side.  A sure sign that the creature was a venomous Copperhead.  No more coffee was needed!


11 Comments on “A “Chocolate Kiss” Morning”

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    Now that’s a little too close for comfort…..

  2. I didn’t know that tip about “chocolate kisses” on snakes & I hope I never need to use it but thanks all the same!!! 🙂

  3. Chocolate kisses are not something I usually associate with Copperheads! Great identifier though.

    Glad you saw him or her first

    One of my dogs stepped into some Blue Daze the other day and came out limping. I thought, oh no, there’s a Pygmy Rattlesnake in there. Got a pool cue and dug around, one of my Aloes had grown a sprout in there and the dog had stepped on that. Whew!

  4. Oh, my goodness. Glad you realized in good time!

  5. mattb325 says:

    Wow – that is very close. I always hate being startled by a snake! It is that their full size, or is that a juvenile one?

  6. Chloris says:

    Oh my goodness, terrifying. Chocolate kisses make it sound cosy and cuddly which it clearly isn’t. I would be too frightened to work in your garden. Do you wear gloves?

  7. Jardin says:

    oh my goodness, I’m afraid I’m terrified of snakes (in spite of ten years occasionally encountering them in South Africa). Glad you avoided him!


Leave a Reply

