Hot Tropical Color

DSC_0506

Bromeliads show their hot colors just when needed in the colder months.  This amazing color combination belongs to the Aechmea gamosepala.

DSC_0517

The hot pink colors of Billbergia nutan really catches the eye.  These two Bromeliads have been in the garden for years and easily reproduce.

DSC_0485

The Mother of Thousands is included in this post as it is still blooming with those brilliant colors of warmer climes.

12 Comments on “Hot Tropical Color”

  1. Nice photos, the Matchstick Bromeliads drive me crazy – what light conditions do you have them in? I have burned up several?!

    • I have them in the shade, but I have had some problems. The rabbits decided they liked to eat them. Now our drought is ending and we have been getting more rain which caused some of them to rot. The ones in the good old Texas dirt seem to do better than the raised beds.

      • I have one tiny pup left. I will try partial shade and see how that works, finding other kinds are easier to grow!

      • You could put it in a pot and baby it for awhile. I treat my plants like pets and will nurse them until they are totally dead. Probably not good gardening.

      • That is exactly what I did! I would probably step on it otherwise.
        This is off the subject – I have been reading about how the hybridization of wheat caused gluten to rise 17x since 1980, have you seen this?

      • Yes, I have heard that, but not sure about the exact number. Gluten is what makes wheat so wonderful for baking. It is hard to make GF bake goods light and fluffy. Thankfully gluten intolerance is finally being recognized by doctors. Improvements are not always good.

      • Interesting, I liked wholewheat in 1980! just can’t really eat it anymore.
        Was reading an article that suggested the wheat has been hybridized to the point we can’t digest it. Would be enlightening to find heirloom wheat to see if it is more digestible.

      • Some think wheat in Europe is more digestible. I also believe some are growing older strains, but it would probably be really expensive.

  2. mattb325 says:

    Amazing! Do the bromeliads survive in the garden or do they need over-wintering in your area?

  3. The Mother of Thousands – what a name. Does that mean it self-seeds like no tomorrow?


Leave a Reply

