Someone is Home

DSC_0160

This photo of a Monarch chrysalis was taken in early January.  Since then, it has been cold and wet.  The chrysalis turned dark and appeared to be rotting.

DSC_0260

But the sun came out and it now looks like someone is home!  Click and enlarge photos to see what you think.

DSC_0266

After two days of trying to get a good shot with the right natural light (don’t have correct equipment), I finally took some pretty good photos.

DSC_0257

The chrysalis has become transparent and it sure looks like there is a creature in it.  Now if only I am ready with the camera when it emerges!

5 Comments on “Someone is Home”

  1. I see a caterpillar in your future

  2. Believe me, being there is *very* tricky! I waited weeks and then missed it by minutes, I swear!!!

  3. upsidediy says:

    That is so neat! I hope you can catch him emerging!

  4. What a special set of photos! Well done.


Leave a Reply

