A Good Poppy Crop

DSC_0085

I fell in love with this Poppy as a beginner gardener.  I spotted it at a local arboretum and and noticed that it must reseed as many were coming up as volunteers.  I don’t have their exact name, but they are a peony poppy.

DSC_0117

I inquired into what they were and a kind volunteer gave me a few seeds.  The rest is poppy history and this unexpected gift is  carefully grown each year.

DSC_0629

This year produced a good crop of seeds and this is the first harvest.  The seed heads are checked everyday and picked as soon as they open.  The heads are shook out every few weeks as they dry in order to collect most of seeds.  The seeds actually stay viable for several years.

DSC_0632

Anyone care to guess how many tiny seeds are here?

DSC_0662

The seed heads dry nicely and can be used in decorating.  They can be cut with long stems and put into dry arrangements.

 

 

5 Comments on “A Good Poppy Crop”

  1. I think this is what I call a California Poppy – though this one is a double.
    Lovely flower, and great pix.

  2. Sheryl says:

    I have some poppies, and a few reseed themselves each year, but I’m going to have to try to save some seeds this year. I’d like to get some started in another area of my garden.

    • I find that poppies do not reseed and well on their own and need some “supervision”, so I collect the seeds. On the Gulf Coast we plant them in the fall around October or November. They germinate, grow a little and then sit until spring.


Leave a Reply

